About Us

The Centre for Building Resilience through Anti-Violence Education (BRAVE) was officially launched in May 2014 as a division of Bryony House through a funding grant from Public Safety Canada’s Crime Prevention Action Fund. BRAVE uses the Stop Now and Plan (SNAP®) program model. SNAP® is an evidence-based, award-winning crime prevention model developed in Canada by the Child Development Institute. BRAVE is the first designated all-girls SNAP® site in the world. We provide a comprehensive set of services to girls aged 6-11 years old who are experiencing social, emotional and/or behavioural challenges, their families and peers. Through SNAP® we will teach girls to stop, think and plan positive alternatives before acting impulsively.

Our Team

The BRAVE team is comprised of caring and experienced professionals with a variety of educational disciplines and professional backgrounds. This highly trained team work with children and their parents/guardians to assess their needs; resulting in an appropriate treatment plan.

We will work together to determine if SNAP® is right for you and your family. If we are not the right service, we will help connect you with one that is.


Jennifer Bernier, PhD
Founder and Executive Director
jbernier@iambrave.ca

Jennifer Foulser, BSW, SWC
Family Consultant
jfoulser@iambrave.ca

Kate Wright, BA
Child and School Consultant
kwright@iambrave.ca

Jill MacKenzie
SNAP Group Facilitator
info@iambrave.ca

Lila Pavey, BSc, MPH
SNAP Program Manager
lpavey@iambrave.ca

Haley Lundy, BA, BIAD
Child and School Consultant
hlundy@iambrave.ca

Leticha Lucas, BA
Family and Child Consultant
llucas@iambrave.ca

Lauren Butler
Administrative Assistant
admin@iambrave.ca

Robin Campbell, BSW, SWC, MRM
Researcher
research@iambrave.ca

Gemma Coley
SNAP Group Facilitator
info@iambrave.ca

 

Our Partners

BRAVE would like to express its deep appreciation to the following partners:

  • Child Development Institute
  • Elizabeth Fry Society of Mainland Nova Scotia
  • Halifax Regional Police
  • Nishka Smith Consulting
  • Resilience Research Centre, Dalhousie University
  • SchoolsPlus

Community Advisory Board

BRAVE would like to extend our appreciation to the members of Community Advisory Board, including representatives from health, justice, education, police and community organizations.

Friends of BRAVE

This project is partially funded through Public Safety Canada’s National Crime Prevention Strategy. We would like to express our gratitude to our funders, as well as local companies or organizations who have supported BRAVE through financial contributions, the donation of goods, and/or the provision of pro bono services.